Club History


  • 2019 - Who are we now?Waverley Warriors is steeped in history dating back all the way to 1984. As it stands now Waverley Warriors is an amalgamation of other historical clubs. The final merger occurred in late 2011 when the Knox Lions and the Eastern District clubs came together to play the first season together in 2012 at Mitcham's home ground. In 2013 Waverley Warriors moved to the old Waverley VFA ground where we stayed until 2015. In 2016 the Warriors had to move due to ground over-utilisation and moved to Meade Reserve in Clayton where SFNL team Clayton Football and Netball Club and Clayton cricket club live. In 2016 Waverley Warriors Over 35s reserves made the grand final against Parkdale but we were beaten on the day. 2018 was a big year for the club as we became one of six AFL Masters Clubs to establish a women's team playing in the inaugural Women's AFL Masters Vic competition. The women had great success winning 5 out of their 7 matches under the guidance of coach Peter (Pants) Nash. In 2019 another move was instigated to provide facilities to better suit our now 4 team strong club. SFNL club Oakleigh Districts were keen for us to join them at Princes Hwy Reserve in Oakleigh East. With an extra training area, excellent lighting and more modern change rooms Waverley Warriors are set for a great 2019 season.
  • 1884 to 2011 - Eastern Districts Masters Footy ClubEastern Districts Superules FC was formed late in 1983, ready to play in the inaugural Superules 1984 season. The club chose its home base at Wantirna Sth FC.The first year of football was very successful, exceeding all expectations and the team played off in the first ever Superules Division 1 Grand Final. They played Diamond Valley but unfortunately a maiden premiership did not eventuate and the team lost on the day.Players came & went over the years, but a core of dedicated people played for & ran the club through the ups & downs that every football club experiences.The team moved to Scoresby FC in 1991, playing there until 1995. A move was then made in 1996 to Heathmont FC. We moved again to Ferntree Gully FC in 2007, staying until 2011, when the club merged with Knox FC.Over the years there were some very special individual efforts with Barry (Smokey) Dawson winning the League Goal kicking award in 1995, 1996 & 1999. 1996 saw Gary Halbert win the League Best & Fairest award and there were numerous "All Australian" players. They were: Kingy & Georgie Bissett 1985, Tony O'Meara 1992, Kingy 1993,Keithy & T Benham1995, Muddy (including being MR B&F for the Carnival) & Tony O'Meara 1997 and Brains 2001.Apart from playing in the first ever Superules Grand Final, Eastern Districts played in the 1993 Division 2 GF vs Footscray & the 1998 Division 1 GF vs Oak Park. Unfortunately the team did not experience the ultimate success.There have been some great milestones achieved over the years with Rob (Brains) Winnen, Ted (Teddy) Payne & Ron (Kingy) King all playing more than 150 games. Others to play more than 100 games are: Tony O'Meara, Geoff (Muddy) Allen, Keith (Keithy) Hodgson, Kevin (Raffo) Raftis, Michael (Pogz) Pogrzeba, Alistair (Macca) Macdonald, Andrew (Dermie) Smith & Andrew (Butts) Butler. There are 23 Life Members associated with the club, the board not showing later Life members including Jason (Roudy) Griffiths.
  • 1994 to 2011 - Knox Lions Masters Footy ClubKnox Lions was originally called South Wantirna Warriors and introduced a team in the Eastern District Vets competition in 1994. In 200o they moved to the Super Rules Masters competition, renamed as Knox Warriors finally to move to Fairpark Reserve to become the Knox Lions where they remained until the merger in 2011.Stay tuned for information on Knox Lions History



  • 2016SepMade Grand FinalLost to Parkdalel
  • 2015SepMoved to ClaytonMeade Reserve as Home Ground
  • 2011DecClub MergerEastern Districts & Knox Lions
  • 1994JanKnox Lions BornInaugurated as a club
  • 1984JanEastern Districts Born